Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Chhath Puja is a Hindu festival

Chhath Puja is one of the most important Hindu festival.Chhath Puja is observed for a period of four days during the month of Kartika. Chhath Puja ritual includes holy bathing, Vrat (fasts) and other holy severities. Chhath Puja is dedicated to Sun god, Surya. Devotees pay reverence to Lord Surya during Chhath Puja by bowing before the Sun.

It is believed that Draupadi was an ardent devotee of Lord Surya (the Sun god). Due to her devotion toward Surya, she was gifted with the unique power to cure even the most deadliest diseases. Draupadi possessed the energy that helped the Pandavas to regain the kingdom.

This festival celebrate on 4th day.
First Day Of Chhath Puja: Nahai Khai
Nahai means to bathe, and Khai means to eat. On the first day of Nahai Khai, devotees take a holy bath in a holy lake or river, to purify their sins. 

Second Day Of Chhath Puja: Kharna
On Kharna, devotees observe Vrat for a time-period of almost 8 to 12 hours. This fast includes abstaining from drinking water. Thus, the day of Kharna involves an anhydrous fast. People terminate the fast during evening after performing Surya Puja.

Third Day Of Chhath Puja :Sandhya Argha
Sandhya Arghya means evening offerings. On the third day of Chhath puja, devotees prepare food offerings.

Fourth Day Of Chhath Puja: Suryodaya Argha
This is the last day of Chhath Puja. On the day of Suryodaya Argha, devotees reach to the banks of the rivers to offer to the rising Sun.
The festival celebrate in women and men. The men's wear dothi and women's wear sharee.

No comments:

Post a Comment